This week, Samsung began rolling out One UI 5, and the company has also announced the global rollout of a new privacy-focused feature called Maintenance Mode. This expansion follows a successful pilot programme in Korea and an initial launch in China.
When you hand in your device for repair, this will allow users to create a separate user account, so they can operate core functions without accessing personal data. When Maintenance Mode is enabled, the person entrusted with the device cannot access their personal information, such as photos, messages, contacts, or user-installed apps.
When the owner exits Maintenance Mode, any data or accounts that were created are automatically deleted. They will be able to download apps from the Galaxy Store, but those apps, as well as any data or accounts created, will be deleted as soon as the owner exits Maintenance Mode.
How to enable Maintenance Mode on Samsung phones?
To enable this mode, go to Settings > Battery and device care menu > enable “Maintenance Mode.”
After enabling the mode, the smartphone must be rebooted. Samsung assures us that this feature is powered by Knox, the company’s defense-grade security platform that provides multi-layered protection.
This new feature will be gradually rolled out over the next few months on select One UI 5 models. The rollout will continue through 2023, with more Galaxy devices becoming available.
Regarding the global rollout, Seungwon Shin, VP and Head of Security Team at Mobile eXperience Business, Samsung Electronics said,
Our whole lives are on our phones, from credit card information to family photos. With Maintenance Mode, we are giving extra reassurance that Galaxy users can keep their privacy, even if they hand their phone to someone.
This is just the latest example of our constant efforts to introduce new ways to make people feel safe and in control, so they can explore new mobile experiences with peace of mind, knowing we have their back.